Question regarding ace 150

Only topics related to the Garrett ace 150 metal detector here.
Post Reply
valenta
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 9:32 pm

Question regarding ace 150

Post by valenta » Sat May 11, 2013 1:36 pm

Hi, been using my 150 for about 2 months now, have found some great stuff cant complain there, have 2 questions though, sometimes when im skimming over the ground, if i hit a clump of soil or something or bump the search coil it will give a signal, is this normal? at first i thought it was a coincidence but it had happened a few times now and theres nothing there. Also does anyone know if the search coil is waterproof?

Thanks in advance



slowsweep
Posts: 2250
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 6:36 am
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 112 times

Re: Question regarding ace 150

Post by slowsweep » Sat May 11, 2013 1:42 pm

is your cable loose ? if you knock the coil and the cable is loose the cable will give you a false signal, hope this helps ::g
Just dig it and put your mind at rest

valenta
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 9:32 pm

Re: Question regarding ace 150

Post by valenta » Sat May 11, 2013 1:48 pm

thanks ill have a look, it has come loose before so could be that

slowsweep
Posts: 2250
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 6:36 am
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 112 times

Re: Question regarding ace 150

Post by slowsweep » Sat May 11, 2013 1:53 pm

just make sure there is no slack cable at the coil end and you should be fine, GL&HH ::g
Just dig it and put your mind at rest

Johnx1
Posts: 765
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 12:14 pm

Re: Question regarding ace 150

Post by Johnx1 » Sat May 11, 2013 2:01 pm

Yes as advised slack in cable can cause it. I have to 250 and started putting a bit tape round it as well as winding it round the shaft. Been fine ever since :D

plasticpete
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 5:31 pm

Re: Question regarding ace 150

Post by plasticpete » Sat May 11, 2013 2:04 pm

I have same problem when I clip the ground, it seems to be quite common and I've learned to just ignore it. Just dig those repeatable 2-way signals.

User avatar
Mega B
Posts: 3303
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 5:59 pm
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 100 times
Contact:

Re: Question regarding ace 150

Post by Mega B » Sat May 11, 2013 2:07 pm

Its odds on favourite that it is the cable that is causing the problem,with a Pulse machine its even worst so you have to be ultra critical with routing the cable straight up the shaft but of course leave some slack so that the coil can move ::g

valenta
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 9:32 pm

Re: Question regarding ace 150

Post by valenta » Sat May 11, 2013 4:30 pm

ok guys thanks for the info ill make sure the cable is set up correctly for next time ::g

Post Reply

Return to “Garrett ACE 150 Forum”