Garrett Ace 250 best coil?

Only topics related to the Garrett ACE 250 metal detector here.
tctron

Garrett Ace 250 best coil?

Post by tctron » Wed Apr 24, 2019 10:26 pm

Hi guys,

I've been detecting for about 7 years (first 6 years were on the ACE 250) and more often than not my brother would come out with me and dig my holes and help me find the targets etc. About 1 year ago I decided to upgrade to the AT MAX. Over the last 6 months or so, my brother has been coming out with me on hunts using my old 250 and to be honest it's all over the show. We mainly hit pasture sites and the 250 tends to give false signals (despite knocking sensitivity down) and generally isn't getting close to what the AT MAX can produce.

So...My questions is, what would you guys suggest I should buy, coil wise, to improve the performance of the 250? I can't afford to buy a new detector for him but thought maybe a new coil might improve things.

Thank you in advance for any advice given ::g

Best,
James

Saffron

Re: Garrett Ace 250 best coil?

Post by Saffron » Wed Apr 24, 2019 11:58 pm

It should not be "all over the show" nor "give false signals (despite knocking sensitivity down)".

Dumb, but important question, have you removed the coil cover and cleaned it and the coil .... dirt and sand will eventually get in between the coil and cover and cause the issues you describe. Tip: the cover can be hard to remove, rather than risk damaging it stand it in warm water for a short time this makes it softer and easier to remove.

Having checked the above as you say its 7 years old, rather than invest in a new coil spend (hopefully less) money on getting it serviced and checked over. As unless its a fault with the coil, which at that age is possible, the problems you describe are likely to continue with any other coil you try.