Hi from Exeter

This is not compulsory but if you would like to tell us a little about yourself then post here.
Beercan

Hi from Exeter

Post by Beercan » Sun Jun 09, 2019 9:13 pm

Hi there,

Newbie here from Exeter in Devon.
Looking to buy my first detector, and being lucky and having large amounts of farmland, rivers and sea nearby I'm struggling to land on which detector to buy!

Looking forward to engaging in this forum.

Steve

FUBAR

Re: Hi from Exeter

Post by FUBAR » Sun Jun 09, 2019 9:28 pm

Hi and welcome to the forum. Plenty advice on here concerning which detector to buy. Depends on how much you want to spend. I started off with the Garret AVE 250 then moved up to e Trac and now it's the ctx. Greetings from East Riding.

Saffron

Post by Saffron » Sun Jun 09, 2019 10:13 pm

Welcome to the forum, its a great place to start to learn about the hobby.

Lots of advice on here about different machines. Giving an idea of your price range would help people give suggestions (but forum does not allow Brand A vs Brand B subjects).

Fubar made a typing error, sadly I make lots of them, he meant the Garrett ACE 250. I also started with one as did many on here, and I still have it as a back up. It is a very good starting machine and fantastic value for money IMHO.

However since I got mine Garrett have intorduced the 300 and 400 (both a bit more expensive) and these also have great reviews and I am sure users would recommend them.

Evan

Beercan

Post by Beercan » Mon Jun 10, 2019 12:21 am

Thanks for the welcome both.

I was looking at the 250 but due to wanting one for good beach use I seem to be creeping toward the Euro Ace (350), or the Bounty Hunter Platinum; both similarly priced.

I'm also learning permissions isn't so easy as everywhere I thought I could use it is an SSSI...!

sweepstick47

Post by sweepstick47 » Mon Jun 10, 2019 12:48 am

Hello Steve, Welcome aboard and enjoy your time with us on the MDF::g Good Luck - Regards ss47