T2 se ltd won't ground balance

Topics related to Teknetics metal detectors here, Off topic posts will be removed.
Post Reply
User avatar
anthony182000
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 8:52 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

T2 se ltd won't ground balance

Post by anthony182000 » Mon Apr 23, 2018 9:00 am

I have a T2se ltd it's aprox a year old, 6 months ago I upgraded the coil to a Nel Tornado, when I tried it out, it wouldn't ground balance in some of my permissions I'd say at least two thirds it won't balance, I've tried the quick grab and manually balancing it,I've tried the sensitivity down to 0 and discrimation at 25 to no avail, the numbers sit at 90 the stock coil and the 5 inch are fine, regton replaced the coil, the next one did the same, hearing various reasons from others, I bought the 15 inch DD from Teknetics in Texas, it does the same, when it does ground balance it's an amazing machine, I contacted First Texas they advised me to speak to Felix, but he directed to me to another person who for the last week of trying I've yet to speak to, the distributor I bought it of in the uk are saying it's the coils , the person I did get speaking to in First Texas says it's the machine,
ideas please?



User avatar
geoffb
Posts: 480
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 12:04 pm
Location: Normandy, Manche, France
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 25 times

Re: T2 se ltd won't ground balance

Post by geoffb » Mon Apr 23, 2018 9:15 am

Hi, I have the same detector and a few times suffered the same problem. Mine sometimes will not balance if the ground is boggy or wet below the surface. I have tried many times to solve it but not been successful. It is not really a problem for me as it only occurs 3 or 4 times a year. I keep a makro racer as back up when I go detecting. Although similar to the T2, it doesn't have the ground balance problem.
"One man's trash is another man's treasure."
Teknetics T2 SE, Makro Racer, Minelab Sov, Tesoro Silver Sabre.

User avatar
anthony182000
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 8:52 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: T2 se ltd won't ground balance

Post by anthony182000 » Mon Apr 23, 2018 10:01 am

thanks geoffb, it's a real pain, and very off-putting, I'd hate to loose faith in the machine as it's done me proud this last year, permissions that have been done to death usually give more up with a deeper coil, alas not with the t2 and other coils :(

Koala
Posts: 4860
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 2:47 pm
Location: Cheshire
Has thanked: 417 times
Been thanked: 1475 times

Re: T2 se ltd won't ground balance

Post by Koala » Mon Apr 23, 2018 10:16 am

Not my machine but I see some recommended as well as turning the sensitivity down that a setting of Disc on 0 and tones 1 helps

And others that a larger coil needs to be raised further of the ground.


If you find a solution post the answer to help others. Seems to be a fairly common problem that most simply use the manual ground balance as a work around

User avatar
anthony182000
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 8:52 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: T2 se ltd won't ground balance

Post by anthony182000 » Mon Apr 23, 2018 10:23 am

Thanks Koala, I'll definitely post the solution if and when I get chatting to First Texas, manually ground balancing doesn't work all the time either I'm afraid, I honestly thought the 15'' from Teknetics would solve the issue but alas no.

User avatar
anthony182000
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 8:52 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: T2 se ltd won't ground balance

Post by anthony182000 » Mon Apr 23, 2018 4:05 pm

i contacted the folk I bought the machine of this is the reply, any advice what a ferrite ring they speak about x;


Try to get hold of a ferrite ring and ground balance to that, if it does ground balance then on your permissions the level of mineralisation is too high and your only option is to manually balance as close as possible.
If it doesn't ground balance to the ferrite ring the coil is faulty.

Koala
Posts: 4860
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 2:47 pm
Location: Cheshire
Has thanked: 417 times
Been thanked: 1475 times

Re: T2 se ltd won't ground balance

Post by Koala » Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:45 pm

Ferrite rings are used in electronics to stop interference


https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=ferri ... 80&bih=654


Often on the end of a chargers lead. The bulbs bit.

User avatar
anthony182000
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 8:52 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: T2 se ltd won't ground balance

Post by anthony182000 » Mon Apr 23, 2018 6:42 pm

Thanks Koala i'll have to order one and take it from there :)

User avatar
anthony182000
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 8:52 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: T2 se ltd won't ground balance

Post by anthony182000 » Mon Apr 30, 2018 8:29 pm

problem has been solved :) after speaking to Felix and his team from Teknetics, it seems the bigger coils only need raised about an inch or two when ground balancing, I tried it on a field I couldn't get it balanced on before and it works now! :)

Koala
Posts: 4860
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 2:47 pm
Location: Cheshire
Has thanked: 417 times
Been thanked: 1475 times

Re: T2 se ltd won't ground balance

Post by Koala » Mon Apr 30, 2018 10:25 pm

Thanks for the feedback.

Nice it's all sorted now ::g

Post Reply

Return to “Teknetics Forum”