New equinox owner looking for advice

Only for the discussion of the Minelab Equinox series of metal detector within this forum.
Santaclaus

New equinox owner looking for advice

Post by Santaclaus »

Hi everyone, I am relatively new to metal detecting and I am looking for some advice.
I started off on the beach with my c scope 4pi which has been good fun finding old coins and the like but I now have permission on some fields and have bought an equinox 800.
I have been out 4 times on the field with it an I am struggling a bit. What I am finding is that i am getting lots of signals but I can’t work out when I should ignore them and when I should dig. I have read up a lot and understand when I am getting a good two way signal and when turning side on and getting the same then this is a good thing. I also know that sometimes the not so obvious signals can also be worth digging.
Can anyone recommend some YouTube tutorials that I could watch that explains all this to the complete beginner, one where you can hear all the tones good and bad with an explanation on why they should be dug or not.
Sorry for the big long post I am not the best at putting my thoughts into words.
All the best and thanks in advance
Paul

haggz

Re: New equinox owner looking for advice

Post by haggz »

hi Paul and welcome to the forum. your not alone on the nox problems. I've owned one for a while and its only in the last few months I've come to grips with it. I nearly gave up on mine but persistence does pay off. I took advice from a mate (deus owner) and forgot about the display and just listened for the sounds. I only use 5 tones. forget air tests as the I.D's are different than items in the ground. practice lots and lots and it will come. iron is a major problem but check the minelab section. happy hunting

PinkFloyd

Post by PinkFloyd »

Youtube Gordon heritage equinox.. I’m sure he’ll turn up on the list, only a few videos but very good ::g
4x4 programme etc...

Bors

Post by Bors »