First time out with CS4pi detector-- what seemed like false signals

All discussion specific to the Cscope CS4PI Metal Detector.
ron1#

First time out with CS4pi detector-- what seemed like false signals

Post by ron1# » Sun Jun 02, 2019 7:49 pm

Hi all, I am new to the hobby and have a cscope 4pi, I took it to Anglesey and to a beach near treaddur bay, small cove with good access from a small slipway, the beach showed rocky outcrops and golden sand.
I set the dials to the green areas as seen on the 4psi, however I kept getting false signals, and found rock under the sand some 6" down.
These false signals also happened whenever I touched the ground with the coil. when away from the rocks it got a bit better but still sounded when touching ground or most rocks, I also used my pin pointer, carrot look alike, and was getting sound of metal detected. Are the rocks around the trearddur bay metallic with ore ?
ps I did on each occasion let the coil rest on the sand to stabilise. the lifted it high off the ground the back to detecting

Or is it me doing it all wrong,
Any tips, about settings and detecting on rocky beaches covered in sand
ron

sweepstick47

Re: First time out with CS4pi detector-- what seemed like false signals

Post by sweepstick47 » Sun Jun 02, 2019 8:22 pm

Hello Ron, You've just discovered one of the anomalies which can occur when detecting.
Take a look through the link provided below and the answer should be revealed.
I don't think you're doing anything wrong ::g

viewtopic.php?f=310&t=102127
Good Luck - Regards ss47
A disservice is no service at all.

fred

Post by fred » Sun Jun 02, 2019 8:24 pm

Many igneous rocks certainly give signals. I know how to deal with them with a Minelab but have no idea with a pulse. ::g
Equinox 800 x2

Bors

Post by Bors » Mon Jun 03, 2019 8:16 am